Redline

2024-05-22

Yesterday I watched the movie Redline, it was stunning. For me, it is one of the best movies.

The plot

The main figure, JP, is a contestant in an inter-galactic race, where the final stage is called Redline. The plot is set in a distant future, where although anti-gravitational engines had become a standard, a lot of people enjoy watching a race with more traditional mechanical engines. I won’t provide any more information, as I recommend you go to watch it yourself.

Opinion

It is an anime movie, drawn in detail and with strong style that perfectly blends with the sci-fi/fantasy/cyberpunk aesthetics. Yes, one of the best things in the movie is the atmosphere. The sound effects and music match the visuals on a similarly high level. The minimalistic techno soundtrack has a very concrete strong vibe to it and conforms to the general aura.

The animation is complex, satisfying to watch and has smooth transitions. During my watch session, I found myself fully immersed and fascinated by the dynamic action.

Although, a lot of time is devoted to action, the movie introduces sensible backstories for the main characters. I like the main characters and even developed an attachment for them, during my watch session.

Overall, the movie is exciting, provides fair amount of entertainment, certainly is interesting and a bit moving. It is just what I expect a movie to provide. It is a piece of art at its finest. For deeper ideas and difficult thought provoking stories, I prefer books. I recommend this movie with a 10/10 score.